Wizards to welcome league leaders Llandovery

26 October 2012

ABERAVON return to Principality Premiership action tomorrow (Saturday, October 27), when they welcome league leaders Llandovery to the Talbot Athletic Ground, kick-off 2.30pm.
The Drovers, coached by former Wizard Lyndon Lewis, have made the perfect start to their season, winning all their league games with a bonus point. The West Walians started with two games on the road, winning 48-22 at Cardiff Arms Park, before running out 37-17 winners at the Gnoll. Four home games followed, with Llandovery beating Bridgend (37-12), Swansea (25-20), Newport (38-19) and fellow Scarlets region club Llanelli (32-22).
In the six games, the Drovers have outscored their opposition by 29 tries to 11. In the British & Irish Cup, Llandovery have won both  their games, beating Nottingham 28-21 at Church Bank before winning 29-14 at Melrose last Saturday.
In “attack” this season, Llandovery have scored 36.2 points on average per game (ranked second) and 4.8 tries (ranked second). In “defence” they have conceded 18.7 points on average per game (ranked fourth) and 1.8 tries (ranked fourth). Aberavon have scored 15.7 points per game (ranked 12th) and 1.6 tries (ranked 12th), and conceded 26.7 points (ranked eighth) and 3.0 tries (ranked seventh).
At home this season the Wizards have won one from three, while Llandovery have won two from two games away from Church Bank.
Top scorer for Llandovery is former Wizard Cerith Rees with 41 points, while top try scorer is Rhodri Williams with six. For the Wizards the top points scorer is Craig Evans  with 44 points, while top try scorer is Jonathan Phillips with two.
Head-to-head, Aberavon and Llandovery have met each other 33 times in the Welsh National League (including play-offs), with the Wizards leading the series by 24 wins to nine. At the Talbot Athletic Ground, Aberavon lead 13-4, with the Drovers winning the corresponding fixture 29-25 last season.
The referee for tomorrow’s game is Rhys Thomas, aided by touch judges Peter Evans and Adrian Lewis. There will be a Halloween Disco in the clubhouse after the game, starting at 7pm.

Aberavon Starting XV: Jonathan Phillips; Richard Carter, Ben John, Matthew Jenkins, Will Price; Jamie Davies, Joe Heatley; Rowan Jenkins, Ieuan Davies, Andrew Clatworthy, Gavin Ronan, Ian Moore, Darryl Thomas, Morgan Allen, Joe Tomalin-Reeves. Replacements: A.N.Other, Craig Evans, Gareth Harvey, Nathan Brown, Chris John, Rhydian Gierat, Ben Thomas, Neil White.

Article tags

Share this article

Comment on this article

20 − 1 =